Do it all brake pads (Miata content)

General chat that fellow COM'ers may be interested in.
Xualiono
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Do it all brake pads (Miata content)

Post by Xualiono » Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:55 am

I need some advice on what brake pads to buy. My car is driven on the street and will be autocrossed a lot. I would also like to do a couple track days. From the research I've done people seem to like the Mazda pads for autoX because they have good initial bite, but I think they'll fade right away on the track. Most of the track pad threads I've read suggest pads that take a while to get up to temperature and therefore won't be good for my purposes. Is there anything that will work well for autocross and still be acceptable on the track (I've never done a track day before so I won't be pushing it too hard)? I've gotten some recommendations for the Hawk HP+ Do you guys agree with that advice or should I be doing something else?

I also noticed that lots of people like to run different pads in the front than in the back. I don't want to do this to start with. I'd rather figure out how the car reacts to my driving style and then maybe stagger my pad compounds based on my results.
Last edited by Xualiono on Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DanB
Speed Racer
Speed Racer

Re: Do it all brake pads (Miata content)

Post by DanB » Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:47 am

I ran HP+ a few times on the S2000. Great bite! but lotsa corrosive stubborn black dust and lots of squealie noise on the street... That was a while back, may be a new formula by now...

Carbotech XP8 and XP10 pads always seemed to have good cold bite on the street for me. I ran them on 240Z, S2000, and LS3 RX7. Not as much initial bite but not bad.

Winmax W5s for me were great on the BRZ, but the NOIZE! Turned heads even in track day paddock...

Ran PFC 11s on the Cayman and IMO they make a really good street/track pad. Some noise on the street but not terrible and not too dusty.