On board recording

General chat that fellow COM'ers may be interested in.
StephanAlfa
Speed Racer
Speed Racer

On board recording

Post by StephanAlfa » Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:22 pm

I am not an expert with electronics but how does on board camera's work.
I see at the track some use cameras and then record onto DVD (I suppose).
Then there is other cameras - much like the one you mount on your monitor for caht and view - being used in cars with good resolution.
Questions:
How does that work?
How much does that cost?
How do you install it?

jadams
Speed Setter
Speed Setter

Post by jadams » Wed Nov 15, 2006 1:11 pm

I just use a standard camcorder (MINIDV), and mount it to my rollcage. The quality of the video is actual very good. Very stable and not jiggly at all. Once I get home, I use a DAZZLE interface to transfer the video onto my PC in digital format. From there, there are many software packages that can be used to edit your video. The final step is to simply burn the final editied version of your video onto a DVD. It sounds easy, and is pretty easy, but it is very time consuming (at least with the software that I am using). In order to capture pure DVD quality video, the sizes of the raw data files can get quite large so plan on having a very big harddraive on your pc.
Joel Adams
1995 Pontiac Trans Am
Class T80

WillM
Administrator
Administrator

Post by WillM » Wed Nov 15, 2006 1:28 pm

Hi Stephan,

The easiest and possibly most cost effective solution is a simple camcorder. Any camcorder from the past 10 years should work just fine. I would suggest a DV camcorder as the quality and durability is the best among the other formats I am familiar with.

Camcorders are usually mounted to a rollcage or harness bar within the cockpit. The IOPort mount is a common choice, but there are several others. DriverSupply may sell the IO-Port mount or similar. Places like racerwholesale also carry them.