New Guy Looking For Miata at NHMS 6/26

Any and all discussions concerning events.
mattsmusic
Rookie Driver
Rookie Driver

New Guy Looking For Miata at NHMS 6/26

Post by mattsmusic » Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:21 pm

Hi -

I'm new to track events, just ran my first HPDE at Palmer last weekend. I'm hooked! Only problem is I don't have a car I can track, so my brother (who's got about 70 track days under his belt) and I rented a Spec Miata for Palmer. I'm wanting to do the HPDE at New Hampshire but need a car. Are you guys aware of any companies who are located near NHMS and rent Miata's? I already spoke with Rosmar and Flatout but NHMS is a long drive for them and pricing reflects that. Plus I'm just one guy wanting one car, which isn't helping pricing.

Also: If anyone is interested, I'd be more than happy to share a car and split the rental cost.

Any help is very much appreciated.

Matt :)

cgreekie
Rookie Driver
Rookie Driver

Re: New Guy Looking For Miata at NHMS 6/26

Post by cgreekie » Sun Jun 14, 2015 8:32 pm

Hi Matt,
Welcome to Comscc.
What were you lap times at Palmer in the spec miata?

mattsmusic
Rookie Driver
Rookie Driver

Post by mattsmusic » Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:14 pm

I didn't do the time trials because I didn't get signed off to run solo but my fastest lap during the HPDE was about 2:15. My brother did the time trials and his best lap was right at 2:00. Considering he's done tons of track days and this was my first, I think I've got potential!

962porsche
Speed Racer
Speed Racer

Post by 962porsche » Tue Jun 16, 2015 4:48 am

as a instructor with another club I will say if your new to track driving it's not about turning a fast lap time !
it's about learning !
a fast laps come later .

mattsmusic
Rookie Driver
Rookie Driver

Post by mattsmusic » Tue Jun 16, 2015 5:36 am

I'm at Thompson right now for that specific reason. I'm ready to learn as much as I possibly can, speed will come with experience.

cgreekie
Rookie Driver
Rookie Driver